REVIEW: *FREE* 13- Week Data Science Boot Camp with Correlation One (DS4A: Empowerment)

Correlation One is now accepting applications for the next cohort of DS4A — apply here!


I’m in the final stretch of Correlation One’s Data Science For All (DS4A): Empowerment Program and I thought it’d be a great time for me to share my experiences with the program with all of you!

Bottom line: DS4A is an incredible opportunity to learn data science skills completely for free. While the program is a big time commitment, the personal and professional growth I’ve experienced over the course of the program is stunning. DS4A connects a community of Fellows from similar backgrounds with each other and gives them access to top-tier educators and educational materials and also to employers that are very eager to hire DS4A graduates.

DS4A is an excellent way to supercharge your career, acquire new skills in data analytics, and make lasting connections with folks that are passionate about increasing diversity and representation in the tech and AI spaces.

I very highly recommend it!

The Application Process: The online form to apply to DS4A is fairly short, and you’ll need to send them your resume/CV as part of the application. They also ask for links to your socials (LinkedIn, personal website, Twitter handle, etc., if applicable). Finally, the application includes a short skills assessment (more on that below). After completing the Skills Assessment, depending on your performance, someone from Correlation One will contact you to arrange a short interview.

The Skills Assessment: I’ve received a lot of questions about this part of the application in particular, so I want to give you some idea about what’s involved. The Skills Assessment is a 90-minute assessment, and while I don’t remember any specific questions (and would not be allowed to share the questions even if I did!), in general, the questions focused on different ways to interpret data, and some asked specifically for your interpretation of different datasets/tables/figures (sales data, consumer information, etc.). While I often don’t think about these kinds of data in my day-to-day (because I study crabs, haha), I actually found the assessment enjoyable, and it allowed me to challenge myself in a new and interesting way! But an important note: once you finish a question and move to the next one, you will not be allowed to go back to previous questions! For that reason, it is to your advantage to take as much time as you need on each question — I ended up completing it with 30 minutes to spare and I wish I would’ve spent more time on some earlier questions!

The Interview: My interview lasted around 10 minutes, and I was asked why I was participating in the program, what I hoped to gain from it, and how I would balance participating in the program with my PhD work. I dressed up pretty for it, but my interviewer was extremely chill, so it certainly didn’t feel like a high pressure interview experience!

The Program: DS4A lasts for 13 weeks, and most of the hands-on instruction occurs on Saturday mornings from 7AM – 5PM PT (10AM – 8PM ET). During those hours, there are a few hours of live instruction via Jupyter Notebook and Zoom, guest speakers from various industry sponsors of the program, team meetings with your assigned TAs, group work, and Icebreaker socials. We mostly code in Python, but recently, we’ve also begun to learn some SQL (we’re on Week 9 so far).

To receive the DS4A Certificate in Data Analytics, you have to:

  • Attend most of the Saturday sessions,
  • Complete three Extended Cases (colloquially called ECs) which are guided practical assignments where you work through analyzing a particular data set using the Python skills you obtained during the Saturday sessions and draw conclusions based on your analyses. You need to pass all three with a Satisfactory grade or better — to pass an EC with a Satisfactory, you have to make an honest effort on at least half of the questions, even if the answers aren’t right, and
  • Complete a Final Project with your team.

There is also an option to receive an Honors Certificate in Data Analytics — to complete DS4A with Honors, you have to attend all the Saturday lectures (or get permission for your absence), and receive 2 “Good” scores (for completing all of the EC’s exercises with an honest effort, even if the answers aren’t right) and at least one “Excellent” (for completing all of the EC’s exercises with an honest effort and getting 2/3rds of the exercises correct) on the three ECs. I was also recently named one of the Gilead Sciences Distinguished Scholars for the program — hooray! 😄

The Final Project: …is incredibly open-ended! You and your team can work on whatever data science project interests you. Your TAs are excellent resources for helping you refine and scope your project so it isn’t an overwhelming task, but most of the idea formation will come from you and your team. My team wanted to tackle and understand the legacy of redlining and environmental racism for our project, but there’s a wide amount of project diversity in my cohort.

Career Development: Correlation One has gone to great lengths to expose the DS4A participants to as many diverse job opportunities as possible. They’ve launched a platform to connect interested employers directly with DS4A Fellows job profiles, they’ve coordinated several career fairs throughout the program where employers come to speak directly to us about their organizations and open opportunities, and they maintain a jobs board that Fellows can plug into whenever they like to apply to positions that interest them. It’s an incredible resource! Other Fellows in the program have also been sharing opportunities from their personal networks with others in the program via Slack, so as a Fellow, you will truly be inundated with opportunities. Plus, as a DS4A Fellow, your application will be fast-tracked if you apply to any of the jobs offered by the program’s industry partners. If you’re looking to break into the data science/data analytics field, participating in this program will throw open so many doors for you!

The Time Commitment: This is largely up to you. I think, like most things, what you put into this program will be what you’ll get out of it. I’m a perfectionist and a completionist (perhaps to my eternal detriment 😅), so in addition to the work involved in pursuing the Honors certificate, I’ve also found that I’ve been putting a lot of time into our Final Project, which actually deeply interests me because of its potential impact on social justice. As a result, I’ve been spending a lot more time on data science work each week than I was anticipating. But it’s weird… I’ve spent so many evenings, music cranked up, Earl Grey tea at the ready, excitedly digging through open source data, and I’ve truly been loving it. I really didn’t expect to enjoy data science as much as I have been, but there it is! Who knew! 😄

All in all, I’m so happy that I’ve had a chance to participate in this program. I went from knowing absolutely nothing about Python (“How do I even make a dataframe? How do I draw a bar graph? What the heck is pandas and rubber duck debugging, and why do they all sound so flippin’ cute?!”) to merging several types of open-source data, subsetting large datasets to obtain points of interest, statistically analyzing the information, and drawing up very pretty graphics to display my findings — all in nine short weeks! Incredible. And while I already have an excellent opportunity lined up after I finish my PhD (more on this soon! 🤩), I’m definitely thinking hard about how to integrate what I learned into my science moving forward.

That’s all, folks! Please shoot me a message/comment if you have any other questions, and let me know if you decide to apply!

⭐ UPDATE: I did it! I graduated with honors from the program! Woohoo! ⭐

-Vicky

30 thoughts on “REVIEW: *FREE* 13- Week Data Science Boot Camp with Correlation One (DS4A: Empowerment)

  1. Great stuff. Thank you for the follow up. I haven’t been able to find any reviews for the program.

    Based on your post, I see you highly recommend it.

    So one doesn’t have to have a background in math or stats to become a data scientist?

    I understand the personal/professional knowledge aspect of the training, but I would hope there are legitimate work opportunities via the sponsors.

    Thanks again

    Like

    • My pleasure!

      And I’m actually terrible at math, and my background is in evolutionary biology, so I was worried about that coming in too, but it hasn’t been an issue at all for me. And from what I’ve seen, there are tons of work opportunities for folks of all skill levels — they have internships and more entry level jobs, all the way up to positions that require a MS or PhD plus a couple of years of experience. So I’ve seen something for everyone!

      Like

  2. Hi Victoria,
    Thanks for sharing this information. This is awesome. I actually applied and completed the assessment before I found and read your blog. I answered the assessment questions to the best of my knowledge. (I’m kind of nervous regarding my performance, Hopefully I get an interview notification). I

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for the review!!! I applied for the 2021 Cohort back in December and completed my assessment in January. I really hope that I get selected!!! This review pretty much answered most of my questions and it is awesome to hear that your experience was positive.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am currently in Europe and I hope I get selected, but with the research I did, I think it’s only people in the US that gets selected. Is it true the program is only applicable to people in the US?

    Like

    • We have people of many nationalities participating in the program, but when I think about it, I think they may all be stationed in the US. 🤔 So that may be right. But I hope you hear back positively nonetheless! They’re hoping to have twice the number of fellows this next round, so I think it’s possible that they’ll expand their selection criteria to include folks from other places!

      Like

  5. Thanks for this write-up! I recently just completed the assessment and now I was invited to submit a recorded interview that I have to complete in a few days! Is the recorded interview something that you had to do?

    I’m so glad that you are having a great experience! I’m taking two classes this semester for my master’s degree. How are you balancing this program with your PhD work? How many hours would you say you dedicate to the program?

    Like

    • Hi Tony! I didn’t have to do a recorded interview. Maybe because they’re trying to double the cohort size for the next class, the recorded interviews might be the most time-efficient way to screen applicants? I hope it goes well for you nonetheless!

      It was definitely challenging to balance — I would spend a few evenings a week doing things for DS4a outside of the Saturday classes (meeting with teammates or our mentor, working on the final project, doing the ECs, or reviewing material that I had trouble with), so I did feel like it took some time away from me completing my dissertation work since I usually work on my dissertation projects in the evenings after all my meetings are done. But I still think it was worth it!

      Last Saturday was actually our last session, and I think I’m actually going to miss participating in the program activities each week! 🙂

      Like

    • Hello Tony, I recently received an invitation for a recorded interview. Can you share us your experience? thank you

      Like

  6. I just got word from them saying that I didn’t get selected. 😦 (600 out 9k applicants), I wasn’t that surprised as the assesment exam, to me, was pretty hard (my math, statistics and python skills definitely need an improvement as I definetely failed those questions). One thing they provided me with when they advised me that I didn’t get in is something like a guide which I hope to have reviewed before I give it another chance next time a new opportunity withthem opens up: I thought I’d share it here in case some one finds it also useful to get themselves ready: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dzRQskEMgAMzJmUea8pK6QRsNXO-3GuU/view?usp=sharing

    Like

  7. Thank you so much for the detailed review. I just received my assessment link. I plan to review the materials provided then test.

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for such detailed review. I have submitted my assessment. May I ask how long it will estimated take to know if is selected to get interview? Thanks a lot again for your information.

    Like

    • It took me two weeks (8/3/21 – 8/15/21) between submitting the assessment to getting the Sparkhire interview notification. Did my interview 8/18/21, still waiting to hear from them to date. Fingers crossed. I don’t think there is a definite timeline, next cohort starts 10/30/21, if we don’t hear by then, we know we were not selected.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Victoria!! Thank you so much for your detailed review. I’d like to ask how long it takes for one to hear back after taking the assessment, from your experience?

    Like

  10. Hey everyone! I’m actually on the interview review team for the next cohort and was a TA for Empowerment 2— we’re still actively going through the SparkHire interviews for Empowerment 3 but we’re hoping to be done with this process soon. I wasn’t involved with the process for deciding who got invited to interview so I’m not sure what that selection process looks like, but I think you both should be hearing back soon either way about your status for E3 soon! 🤞🏽

    Like

    • Thank you Victoria for the update. I was wondering if SparkHire was holding things up, but it seems you have a lot of interviews to go through. Take all your time. I have 2 questions for you; were there specific books you used, or was everything curated by Natesh Pilai?

      Are you/have your considered working as a data scientist? Check out this on blind: https://bit.ly/3hptLJa
      It is crazy how much Netflix is paying data scientists, especially those with Masters and PHDs.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Jay. I’ve heard of huge salary offers from FAANG companies but $750K?? 🤩🤯 Whoa. Thank you so much for sharing that, I didn’t even know that was in the realm of possibility!!! I currently have a postdoc lined up with Stanford for the next few years, but after that, I’ll be seriously considering my options!

        Also, there aren’t specific books used with the course — all the content is created by Correlation One! And unfortunately, Natesh isn’t teaching with us anymore, but we still have a lot of great instructors on staff. I’m planning to write another post soon about my experiences as a TA and some recent changes to the program since I was a Fellow, so please keep an eye out for that! 😊

        Like

  11. I heard back today that I was admitted to the Cohort 3. Looking Forward to a lot of learning and making news friends. For now, I have a month to finish the Python pre-course and will do so ASAP. Victoria, you will be a TA this fall, right? How do I join your team?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Congratulations!! 🥳🎉 You must be so thrilled! I’m taking a break from TAing for C1 to finish up my PhD this fall so I won’t be around for E3 unfortunately, but I will be one of the TAs moderating the Forum for the Python pre-course you’re taking (and I pre-recorded some of the lecture cases for the pre-course as well), so you’ll see me there! TAs are usually also randomly assigned students by time zone, I think, but I know you’ll be matched with someone great! I think a couple of my TA friends are returning for E3, so hopefully you’ll be paired with one of them 😁🤞🏽

      Like

      • Hello Luis! Thank you. Most of the interview questions are situational, none of them was technical or about data science at all. They ask you what you do when you are in a team or when you face a challenge or how you react to a given situation. The goal I think is too weed out the quitters and pick those who are resilient and function well in a team. I think they also look for people who have the desire and can commit to the program in the short term and the DS career in the long-term. The interview is a sales job, all you gotta do is sell how much a resilient, committed and all round positive team player you are.

        Like

  12. Hello Victoria, thank you for your amazing review on the program! I was wondering if you had any knowledge on waitlisted applicants? I was given an email this week and immediately got started on the pre-req work in hopes of being added to the cohort.

    Like

    • Hi Angel! So I think C1 is waiting to see how many invited Fellows accept the program offer and from there, they’ll invite waitlisted Fellows to the program to fill the remaining spaces. I think for some Fellows, their final acceptance is conditional on completion of the Python pre-program, but I’m not 100% sure how this relates to who gets selected off the waitlist — I imagine that if a waitlisted Fellow doesn’t complete the pre-program work, they won’t be invited to the full program though, so definitely do your best on the pre-program!

      I’m one of the TAs monitoring the Forum for the pre-program, so I’ll probably see you around there if you have questions while you’re working through the material! 😊

      Like

  13. Hi Victoria, Thank you for the blog post! I am currently interested in a career transition to be a data analysis from a public health field because I realized that I am more passionate about data analytics and communicating with data (especially health data). On my own time, I am studying SQL and Python from free resources (Kaggle, freeCodeCamp, etc.). I would like to ask if having intermediate skills will be disadvantageous as an applicant? Such as, if high scorers for the skills assessment would not be considered for the program? I believe the program would be a great opportunity for me to gain mentors and further insights into this career while also enhancing technical skills. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment